The end of a marital relationship can entail many difficult aspects including child custody, child support, alimony and the division of property. The order entered by the Court ending the legal relationship between the parties is called a divorce.
Divorce in North Carolina is a court’s formal declaration that legally ends a marriage. North Carolina is a “no-fault” divorce State, meaning that the grounds for a divorce are not as complicated as requirement of proving adultery, domestic violence, or abandonment as is required in some other States. There are also other grounds for divorce such as incurable insanity.
In order to file for a divorce in North Carolina, a person must have lived in North Carolina for at least six months prior to filing for the divorce, the spouses must have been separated for more than a year prior to filing, and one of the parties had to have intended the separation to be permanent. For the most part, the actual divorce is the “easy part” of the dissolution process. However, there are circumstances in which the issues of intent to separate, jurisdiction, and service can play important roles. Additionally, once a divorce is granted, there are many rights that can be lost by a person if they have not adequately protected their marital rights prior to the divorce judgment being signed.
An uncontested divorce legally ends a marriage. It does not resolve alimony, property division, or child custody issues. An uncontested divorce can be the final step if those issues have already been decided or if they don’t apply to you. The McNeil Law Firm’s fee for an uncontested divorce case is $800 including court costs.
Get an Uncontested Divorce for a Flat Fee of $800.*
Contact us today to get started.
At the McNeil Law Firm, we understand that your divorce situation will affect many parts of your life, your future and the future of your family. Contact the McNeil Law Firm today to schedule a confidential consultation regarding your divorce. For more information on the divorce process, including annulments, please review our Divorce FAQs page and our Divorce Case Law & Statutes page.
*This Flat Fee includes Civil Filing Fees, Motions Fee and standard service of process fees for either Sheriff’s Service or Certified Mail. Additional fees may be charged for service by publication, repeated unsuccessful service attempts or difficulty in service of process and in the event that personal service is necessary.*
This website contains general information about common family law and criminal law matters in North Carolina. However, please remember that every criminal, traffic, divorce or family law case is different. Websites are no substitute for genuine legal advice from an attorney and the information here may not apply to your specific case.